Difference between revisions of "People"

From makerspace.tulane.edu
Jump to navigation Jump to search
(Maker Ninjas)
m (updated grad years)
 
(95 intermediate revisions by 4 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
==Dr. Cedric Walker==
+
==David E Robinson==
===MakerSpace Director===
+
===Executive Director===
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
+
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
+
'''Email:''' [mailto:david@tulane.edu david@tulane.edu]
  
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
  
'''Office:''' SSE125, in the MakerSpace
+
'''Office:''' MakerSpace Office
 
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3424 More info]
 
 
 
==[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]==
 
===MakerSpace Advisor===
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
 
 
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5086
 
 
 
'''Office:''' 4059 Percival Stern Hall
 
 
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3563 More info]
 
  
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler|Profile Page]]
 
  
 
==John Sullivan==
 
==John Sullivan==
===MakerSpace Advisor===
+
===Assistant Executive Director===
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
Line 34: Line 20:
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
  
==''Maker Ninjas''==
 
  
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas]]  </li>
 
  
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Maker Ninjas.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Ninjas and were invited to apply for a position as a new Maker Ninja.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
 
*Digital-1
 
*Wood-1
 
*Metal-1
 
*Metal-2
 
*Electronics
 
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Ninja candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
 
  
During their first year of work as a Ninja, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Ninja in the second year:
+
==''Fabrication Technicians''==
*Digital-2
 
*Either Wood-2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
 
*Water Jet.
 
  
Newly hired Ninjas start at a salary of $10.00 per hourAfter satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Ninjas who have completed '''all''' of the
+
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher]</li>
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainingswill receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Ninja with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
 
  
   
+
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
 +
* Digital Tools
 +
* Wood 1
 +
* Metal 1
 +
* Metal 2
 +
<!--*Electronics-->
 +
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
  
 +
During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:
 +
* Either Wood 2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
 +
* Water Jet
  
 +
Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Fab Techs who have completed '''all''' of the
 +
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
  
The 2019-20 Maker Ninjas are:
+
 
+
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Fabrication Technicians, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Fab Techs">
'''Au, Timothy''' [mailto:tau@tulane.edu tau@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Ben Yifrach''' (byifrach@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alan Shepardson''' (ashepardson@tulane.edu)
'''Belden, Sam''' [mailto:sbelden1@tulane.edu sbelden1@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Kate Scalet''' (kscalet@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Caroline Sawrey''' (csawrey@tulane.edu)
'''Bush, Meghan''' [mailto:mbush7@tulane.edu mbush7@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alec Rovner''' (arovner@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Bennett Hermanoff''' (bhermanoff@tulane.edu)
'''Culp, Caroline''' [mailto:cculp@tulane.edu cculp@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Morgan Hearne''' (mhearne@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Zack Chapman''' (zchapman@tulane.edu)
'''Davis, Claire''' [mailto:cdavis44@tulane.edu cdavis44@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''' (ctyndal@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Asher Burkin''' (aburkin@tulane.edu)
'''Duncan, Addie''' [mailto:aduncan3@tulane.edu aduncan3@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl''' (sastl@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu)
'''Grieshop, Cole''' [mailto:cgriesho@tulane.edu cgriesho@tulane.edu]
+
File:Elena_Lompado.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu)
'''Greenstein, Lewis''' [mailto:lgreenstein@tulane.edu lgreenstein@tulane.edu]
+
File:Audrey_Buck_(2).jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu)
'''Johnson, Robert''' [mailto:rjohnson1@tulane.edu rjohnson1@tulane.edu]
+
File:Addie_Duncan.jpg|Adriana L Duncan, 2021
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|Jarrett Bealer, 2021
'''Lompado, Elena''' [mailto:Elompado@tulane.edu Elompado@tulane.edu]
+
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|Lewis E Greenstein, 2021
 
+
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|Robert Johnson, 2021
'''Lucia, Dylan''' [mailto:dlucia1@tulane.edu dlucia1@tulane.edu]
+
file:Blank.jpg|Will Kadison, 2021
 
+
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|Dylan A Lucia, '20, *21
'''Mills, Rae''' [mailto:smills5@tulane.edu smills5@tulane.edu]
+
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|Ian J Pimenta, 2021
 
+
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|Kyra Rubinstein, 2021
'''Mirnics, Marco''' [mailto:mmirnics@tulane.edu mmirnics@tulane.edu]
+
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 
+
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
'''O'Connor, Mason''' [mailto:moconnor1@tulane.edu moconnor1@tulane.edu]
+
File:BranchCrop.jpg|Kaleb Branch, 2020
 
+
File:BushCrop.jpg|Meghan E Bush, 2020
'''Pimenta, Ian''' [mailto:ipimenta@tulane.edu ipimenta@tulane.edu]
+
File:DavisCrop.jpg|Claire Davis, 2020
 
+
File:GrieshopCop.jpg|Cole Greishop, 2020
'''Rose, Victoria''' [mailto:vrose@tulane.edu vrose@tulane.edu]
+
File:MirnicsCrop.jpg|Marco I Mirnics, 2020
 
+
File:OConnorCrop.jpg|Mason O'Connor, 2020
'''Rubinstein, Kyra''' [mailto:krubinstein@tulane.edu krubinstein@tulane.edu]
+
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 
+
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
'''Sajjadi, Afsheen''' [mailto:asajjadi@tulane.edu asajjadi@tulane.edu]
+
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Andrei Mills, 2020
 +
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 +
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
 +
File:YaoCrop.jpg|Joshua E Yao, 2019
 +
File:ArtztCrop2.jpg|Luke Artzt, 2019
 +
File:NguyenNCrop.jpg|Nathan P Nguyen, 2019
 +
File:BegemanCrop.jpg|Andrew W Begeman, 2018
 +
File:PraderCrop.jpg|Antonius Prader, 2018
 +
File:SchoberCrop.jpg|Chase B Schober, 2018
 +
File:CaponeCrop2.jpg|Daniel Capone, 2018
 +
File:GastaCrop.jpg|Ethan W Gasta, 2018
 +
File:SchusterCrop.jpg|Jason D Schuster, 2018
 +
File:SmithLCrop.jpg|Lianna Mae Smith, 2018
 +
File:NiceCrop.jpg|Matthew W Nice, 2018
 +
File:WoodyCrop.jpg|Max Woody, 2018
 +
File:HoltCrop.jpg|Sarah E Holt, 2018
 +
File:SteffensCrop.jpg|Theodore Steffens, 2018
 +
File:Brown_AlexCrop.jpg|Alexander Brown, 2017
 +
File:ZhangCrop.jpg|Allen Zhang, 2017
 +
File:LewsonCrop2.jpg|Ben Lewson, 2017
 +
File:WhiteCrop.jpg|Celeste White, 2017
 +
File:O'CainCrop.jpg|Cody O'Cain, 2017
 +
File:Seaton_DaleyCrop.jpg|Daley Seaton, 2017
 +
File:Kearing_DavidCrop.jpg|David Kearing, 2017
 +
File:SweenyCrop.jpg|Joe Sweeny, 2017
 +
File:Nguyen_Jon_Crop.jpg|Jonathan Nguyen, 2017
 +
File:FishelCrop.jpg|Ryan Fishel, 2017
 +
File:McCrady2Crop.jpg|Taylor McCrady, 2017
 +
File:McMahonCrop.jpg|Francis McMahon, 2016
 +
File:Bishop_Van_Horn_Crop.jpg|Maddy Bishop-Van Horn, 2016
 +
</gallery>
  
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
Prof. '''Adam Crosson''' [mailto:acrosson@tulane.edu acrosson@tulane.edu] runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations
 
  
 
+
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Director Cedric Walker.
 
  
 
==Maker Profiles==
 
==Maker Profiles==
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]
 
 
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
  
Line 118: Line 128:
  
 
[[Lewis Greenstein]]
 
[[Lewis Greenstein]]
 +
 +
[[Ian Pimenta]]
 +
 +
[[Asher Burkin]]

Latest revision as of 18:06, 26 August 2022

David E Robinson

Executive Director

Email: david@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5866

Office: MakerSpace Office


John Sullivan

Assistant Executive Director

Sullivan.jpg

Email: johns@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5853

Office: 533 Lindy Boggs Building

More info



Fabrication Technicians

  • Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher
  • The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short. They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace. In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician. To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the requirements for these credentials:

    • Digital Tools
    • Wood 1
    • Metal 1
    • Metal 2

    This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill. All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.

    During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:

    • Either Wood 2 or [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
    • Water Jet

    Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour. After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Fab Techs who have completed all of the trainings will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.


    Faculty & Staff Collaborators

    Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.

    Maker Profiles

    Ben Lewson

    Cody O'Cain

    Chase Schober

    Jason Schuster

    Dylan Lucia

    Afsheen Sajjadi

    Lewis Greenstein

    Ian Pimenta

    Asher Burkin