Difference between revisions of "People"

From makerspace.tulane.edu
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
(87 intermediate revisions by 4 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
==Dr. Cedric Walker==
+
 
===MakerSpace Director===
+
 
 +
<!--==Dr. Cedric Walker==
 +
===MakerSpace Director Emeritus (retired)===
 
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
  
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
+
'''Phone:''' (504) 258-7803
 
 
'''Office:''' SSE125, in the MakerSpace
 
  
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3424 More info]
+
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3424 More info]-->
  
==[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]==
+
==Dr. Timothy Schuler==
===MakerSpace Advisor===
+
==="Maker-In-Chief"===
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
Line 22: Line 22:
  
 
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler|Profile Page]]
 
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler|Profile Page]]
 +
  
 
==John Sullivan==
 
==John Sullivan==
===MakerSpace Advisor===
+
===Interim Executive Director===
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
Line 34: Line 35:
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
  
==''Maker Ninjas''==
+
 
 +
 
 +
 
 +
==''Fabrication Technicians''==
  
 
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
 
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
  
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Maker Ninjas.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Ninjas and were invited to apply for a position as a new Maker Ninja.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
+
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
 
*Digital-1
 
*Digital-1
 
*Wood-1
 
*Wood-1
Line 44: Line 48:
 
*Metal-2
 
*Metal-2
 
*Electronics
 
*Electronics
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Ninja candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
+
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
  
During their first year of work as a Ninja, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Ninja in the second year:
+
During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:
 
*Digital-2
 
*Digital-2
 
*Either Wood-2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
 
*Either Wood-2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
 
*Water Jet.
 
*Water Jet.
  
Newly hired Ninjas start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Ninjas who have completed '''all''' of the  
+
Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Fab Techs who have completed '''all''' of the  
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Ninja with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
+
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
  
 
   
 
   
 
+
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Fabrication Technicians, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Fab Techs">
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Ben Yifrach''' (byifrach@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alan Shepardson''' (ashepardson@tulane.edu)
The 2019-20 Maker Ninjas are:
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Kate Scalet''' (kscalet@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Caroline Sawrey''' (csawrey@tulane.edu)
'''Au, Timothy''' [mailto:tau@tulane.edu tau@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alec Rovner''' (arovner@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Bennett Hermanoff''' (bhermanoff@tulane.edu)
'''Belden, Sam''' [mailto:sbelden1@tulane.edu sbelden1@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Morgan Hearne''' (mhearne@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Zack Chapman''' (zchapman@tulane.edu)
'''Bush, Meghan''' [mailto:mbush7@tulane.edu mbush7@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''' (ctyndal@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Asher Burkin''' (aburkin@tulane.edu)
'''Culp, Caroline''' [mailto:cculp@tulane.edu cculp@tulane.edu]
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl''' (sastl@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu)
'''Davis, Claire''' [mailto:cdavis44@tulane.edu cdavis44@tulane.edu]
+
File:Elena_Lompado.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu)
'''Duncan, Addie''' [mailto:aduncan3@tulane.edu aduncan3@tulane.edu]
+
File:Audrey_Buck_(2).jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu)
'''Grieshop, Cole''' [mailto:cgriesho@tulane.edu cgriesho@tulane.edu]
+
File:Addie_Duncan.jpg|Adriana L Duncan, 2021
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|Jarrett Bealer, 2021
'''Greenstein, Lewis''' [mailto:lgreenstein@tulane.edu lgreenstein@tulane.edu]
+
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|Lewis E Greenstein, 2021
 
+
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|Robert Johnson, 2021
'''Johnson, Robert''' [mailto:rjohnson1@tulane.edu rjohnson1@tulane.edu]
+
file:Blank.jpg|Will Kadison, 2021
 
+
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|Dylan A Lucia, 2021
'''Lompado, Elena''' [mailto:Elompado@tulane.edu Elompado@tulane.edu]
+
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|Ian J Pimenta, 2021
 
+
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|Kyra Rubinstein, 2021
'''Lucia, Dylan''' [mailto:dlucia1@tulane.edu dlucia1@tulane.edu]
+
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 
+
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
'''Mills, Rae''' [mailto:smills5@tulane.edu smills5@tulane.edu]
+
File:BranchCrop.jpg|Kaleb Branch, 2020
 
+
File:BushCrop.jpg|Meghan E Bush, 2020
'''Mirnics, Marco''' [mailto:mmirnics@tulane.edu mmirnics@tulane.edu]
+
File:DavisCrop.jpg|Claire Davis, 2020
 
+
File:GrieshopCop.jpg|Cole Greishop, 2020
'''O'Connor, Mason''' [mailto:moconnor1@tulane.edu moconnor1@tulane.edu]
+
File:MirnicsCrop.jpg|Marco I Mirnics, 2020
 
+
File:OConnorCrop.jpg|Mason O'Connor, 2020
'''Pimenta, Ian''' [mailto:ipimenta@tulane.edu ipimenta@tulane.edu]
+
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 
+
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
'''Rose, Victoria''' [mailto:vrose@tulane.edu vrose@tulane.edu]
+
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Andrei Mills, 2020
 
+
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
'''Rubinstein, Kyra''' [mailto:krubinstein@tulane.edu krubinstein@tulane.edu]
+
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
 
+
File:YaoCrop.jpg|Joshua E Yao, 2019
'''Sajjadi, Afsheen''' [mailto:asajjadi@tulane.edu asajjadi@tulane.edu]
+
File:ArtztCrop2.jpg|Luke Artzt, 2019
 +
File:NguyenNCrop.jpg|Nathan P Nguyen, 2019
 +
File:BegemanCrop.jpg|Andrew W Begeman, 2018
 +
File:PraderCrop.jpg|Antonius Prader, 2018
 +
File:SchoberCrop.jpg|Chase B Schober, 2018
 +
File:CaponeCrop2.jpg|Daniel Capone, 2018
 +
File:GastaCrop.jpg|Ethan W Gasta, 2018
 +
File:SchusterCrop.jpg|Jason D Schuster, 2018
 +
File:SmithLCrop.jpg|Lianna Mae Smith, 2018
 +
File:NiceCrop.jpg|Matthew W Nice, 2018
 +
File:WoodyCrop.jpg|Max Woody, 2018
 +
File:HoltCrop.jpg|Sarah E Holt, 2018
 +
File:SteffensCrop.jpg|Theodore Steffens, 2018
 +
File:Brown_AlexCrop.jpg|Alexander Brown, 2017
 +
File:ZhangCrop.jpg|Allen Zhang, 2017
 +
File:LewsonCrop2.jpg|Ben Lewson, 2017
 +
File:WhiteCrop.jpg|Celeste White, 2017
 +
File:O'CainCrop.jpg|Cody O'Cain, 2017
 +
File:Seaton_DaleyCrop.jpg|Daley Seaton, 2017
 +
File:Kearing_DavidCrop.jpg|David Kearing, 2017
 +
File:SweenyCrop.jpg|Joe Sweeny, 2017
 +
File:Nguyen_Jon_Crop.jpg|Jonathan Nguyen, 2017
 +
File:FishelCrop.jpg|Ryan Fishel, 2017
 +
File:McCrady2Crop.jpg|Taylor McCrady, 2017
 +
File:McMahonCrop.jpg|Francis McMahon, 2016
 +
File:Bishop_Van_Horn_Crop.jpg|Maddy Bishop-Van Horn, 2016
 +
</gallery>
  
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
Line 100: Line 130:
  
  
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Director Cedric Walker.
+
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Timothy Schuler.
  
 
==Maker Profiles==
 
==Maker Profiles==
Line 118: Line 148:
  
 
[[Lewis Greenstein]]
 
[[Lewis Greenstein]]
 +
 +
[[Ian Pimenta]]
 +
 +
[[Asher Burkin]]

Latest revision as of 21:27, 22 October 2021


Dr. Timothy Schuler

"Maker-In-Chief"

Schuler.jpg

Email: tschule@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5086

Office: 4059 Percival Stern Hall

More info

Profile Page


John Sullivan

Interim Executive Director

Sullivan.jpg

Email: johns@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5853

Office: 533 Lindy Boggs Building

More info



Fabrication Technicians

  • Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher
  • The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short. They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace. In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician. To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the requirements for these credentials:

    • Digital-1
    • Wood-1
    • Metal-1
    • Metal-2
    • Electronics

    This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill. All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.

    During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:

    • Digital-2
    • Either Wood-2 or [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
    • Water Jet.

    Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour. After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Fab Techs who have completed all of the trainings will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.


    Faculty & Staff Collaborators

    Prof. Adam Crosson acrosson@tulane.edu runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations


    Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Timothy Schuler.

    Maker Profiles

    Dr. Timothy Schuler

    Ben Lewson

    Cody O'Cain

    Chase Schober

    Jason Schuster

    Dylan Lucia

    Afsheen Sajjadi

    Lewis Greenstein

    Ian Pimenta

    Asher Burkin