Difference between revisions of "People"

From makerspace.tulane.edu
Jump to navigation Jump to search
(Maker Ninjas)
m (updated grad years)
 
(26 intermediate revisions by 3 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
==David E Robinson==
 +
===Executive Director===
  
 
+
'''Email:''' [mailto:david@tulane.edu david@tulane.edu]
==Dr. Cedric Walker==
 
===MakerSpace Director===
 
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
 
  
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
  
'''Office:''' SSE125, in the MakerSpace
+
'''Office:''' MakerSpace Office
 
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3424 More info]
 
 
 
==Dr. Timothy Schuler==
 
===MakerSpace Advisor===
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
 
  
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5086
 
 
'''Office:''' 4059 Percival Stern Hall
 
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3563 More info]
 
 
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler|Profile Page]]
 
  
 
==John Sullivan==
 
==John Sullivan==
===MakerSpace Advisor===
+
===Assistant Executive Director===
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
Line 36: Line 20:
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
  
==''Maker Ninjas''==
+
 
 +
 
 +
 
 +
==''Fabrication Technicians''==
  
 
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
 
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
  
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Maker Ninjas.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Ninjas and were invited to apply for a position as a new Maker Ninja.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
+
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
*Digital-1
+
* Digital Tools
*Wood-1
+
* Wood 1
*Metal-1
+
* Metal 1
*Metal-2
+
* Metal 2
*Electronics
+
<!--*Electronics-->
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Ninja candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
+
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
  
During their first year of work as a Ninja, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Ninja in the second year:
+
During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:
*Digital-2
+
* Either Wood 2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
*Either Wood-2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
+
* Water Jet
*Water Jet.
 
  
Newly hired Ninjas start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Ninjas who have completed '''all''' of the  
+
Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Fab Techs who have completed '''all''' of the  
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Ninja with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
+
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
  
 
   
 
   
<!--Current and past Maker Ninjas.  E-mail address is shown for current Maker Ninjas
+
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Fabrication Technicians, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Fab Techs">
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Ben Yifrach''' (byifrach@tulane.edu)
<div>
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alan Shepardson''' (ashepardson@tulane.edu)
</div>-->
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Kate Scalet''' (kscalet@tulane.edu)
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Maker Ninjas, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Maker Ninjas">
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Caroline Sawrey''' (csawrey@tulane.edu)
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alec Rovner''' (arovner@tulane.edu)
File:LompadoCrop.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Bennett Hermanoff''' (bhermanoff@tulane.edu)
File:DuncanCrop.jpg|'''Adriana L Duncan''' (aduncan3@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Morgan Hearne''' (mhearne@tulane.edu)
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|'''Ian J Pimenta''' (ipimenta@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Zack Chapman''' (zchapman@tulane.edu)
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|'''Kyra Rubinstein''' (krubinstein@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''' (ctyndal@tulane.edu)
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|'''Lewis E Greenstein''' (lgreenstein@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Asher Burkin''' (aburkin@tulane.edu)
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|'''Robert Johnson''' (rjohnson1@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl''' (sastl@tulane.edu)
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|'''Dylan A Lucia''' (dlucia1@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu)
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|'''Afsheen Sajjadi''' (asajjadi@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:Elena_Lompado.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu)
File:DavisCrop.jpg|'''Claire Davis''' (cdavis44@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu)
File:GrieshopCop.jpg|'''Cole Greishop''' (cgriesho@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:Audrey_Buck_(2).jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu)
File:BranchCrop.jpg|'''Kaleb Branch''' (branchkaleb@gmail.com), 2020
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu)
File:MirnicsCrop.jpg|'''Marco I Mirnics''' (mmirnics@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:Addie_Duncan.jpg|Adriana L Duncan, 2021
File:OConnorCrop.jpg|'''Mason O'Connor''' (moconnor1@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:Blank.jpg|Jarrett Bealer, 2021
File:BushCrop.jpg|'''Meghan E Bush''' (mbush7@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|Lewis E Greenstein, 2021
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|'''Samuel W Belden''' (sbelden1@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|Robert Johnson, 2021
File:AuCrop.jpg|'''Timothy Au''' (tau@tulane.edu), 2020
+
file:Blank.jpg|Will Kadison, 2021
File:RoseCrop.jpg|'''Victoria A Rose''' (vrose@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|Dylan A Lucia, '20, *21
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Sierra "Rae" Mills (smills5@tulane.edu), 2020
+
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|Ian J Pimenta, 2021
 +
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|Kyra Rubinstein, 2021
 +
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 +
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
 +
File:BranchCrop.jpg|Kaleb Branch, 2020
 +
File:BushCrop.jpg|Meghan E Bush, 2020
 +
File:DavisCrop.jpg|Claire Davis, 2020
 +
File:GrieshopCop.jpg|Cole Greishop, 2020
 +
File:MirnicsCrop.jpg|Marco I Mirnics, 2020
 +
File:OConnorCrop.jpg|Mason O'Connor, 2020
 +
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 +
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
 +
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Andrei Mills, 2020
 
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
 
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
Line 113: Line 111:
  
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
Prof. '''Adam Crosson''' [mailto:acrosson@tulane.edu acrosson@tulane.edu] runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations
 
 
  
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Director Cedric Walker.
+
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.
  
 
==Maker Profiles==
 
==Maker Profiles==
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]
 
 
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
  
Line 136: Line 130:
  
 
[[Ian Pimenta]]
 
[[Ian Pimenta]]
 +
 +
[[Asher Burkin]]

Latest revision as of 18:06, 26 August 2022

David E Robinson

Executive Director

Email: david@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5866

Office: MakerSpace Office


John Sullivan

Assistant Executive Director

Sullivan.jpg

Email: johns@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5853

Office: 533 Lindy Boggs Building

More info



Fabrication Technicians

  • Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher
  • The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short. They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace. In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician. To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the requirements for these credentials:

    • Digital Tools
    • Wood 1
    • Metal 1
    • Metal 2

    This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill. All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.

    During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:

    • Either Wood 2 or [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
    • Water Jet

    Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour. After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Fab Techs who have completed all of the trainings will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.


    Faculty & Staff Collaborators

    Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.

    Maker Profiles

    Ben Lewson

    Cody O'Cain

    Chase Schober

    Jason Schuster

    Dylan Lucia

    Afsheen Sajjadi

    Lewis Greenstein

    Ian Pimenta

    Asher Burkin