Difference between revisions of "People"

From makerspace.tulane.edu
Jump to navigation Jump to search
(Maker Ninjas)
m (updated grad years)
 
(12 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
==David E Robinson==
 +
===Executive Director===
  
 +
'''Email:''' [mailto:david@tulane.edu david@tulane.edu]
  
<!--==Dr. Cedric Walker==
+
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
===MakerSpace Director Emeritus (retired)===
 
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
 
  
'''Phone:''' (504) 258-7803
+
'''Office:''' MakerSpace Office
 
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3424 More info]-->
 
 
 
==Dr. Timothy Schuler==
 
==="Maker-In-Chief"===
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
 
 
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5086
 
 
 
'''Office:''' 4059 Percival Stern Hall
 
 
 
[https://sse.tulane.edu/node/3563 More info]
 
 
 
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler|Profile Page]]
 
  
  
 
==John Sullivan==
 
==John Sullivan==
===Interim Executive Director===
+
===Assistant Executive Director===
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
Line 38: Line 23:
  
  
==''Maker Ninjas''==
+
==''Fabrication Technicians''==
  
 
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
 
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
  
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Maker Ninjas.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Ninjas and were invited to apply for a position as a new Maker Ninja.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
+
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
*Digital-1
+
* Digital Tools
*Wood-1
+
* Wood 1
*Metal-1
+
* Metal 1
*Metal-2
+
* Metal 2
*Electronics
+
<!--*Electronics-->
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Ninja candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
+
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
  
During their first year of work as a Ninja, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Ninja in the second year:
+
During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:
*Digital-2
+
* Either Wood 2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
*Either Wood-2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
+
* Water Jet
*Water Jet.
 
  
Newly hired Ninjas start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Ninjas who have completed '''all''' of the  
+
Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Fab Techs who have completed '''all''' of the  
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Ninja with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
+
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
  
 
   
 
   
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Maker Ninjas, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Maker Ninjas">
+
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Fabrication Technicians, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Fab Techs">
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''', 2023
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Ben Yifrach''' (byifrach@tulane.edu)
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl'''(sastl@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alan Shepardson''' (ashepardson@tulane.edu)
File:Blank.jpg|'''Jarrett Bealer''' (jbealer@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Kate Scalet''' (kscalet@tulane.edu)
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Caroline Sawrey''' (csawrey@tulane.edu)
File:LompadoCrop.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alec Rovner''' (arovner@tulane.edu)
File:Blank.jpg|'''Jarrett Bealer''' (jbealer@tulane.edu), 2022
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Bennett Hermanoff''' (bhermanoff@tulane.edu)
File:Blank.jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Morgan Hearne''' (mhearne@tulane.edu)
File:DuncanCrop.jpg|'''Adriana L Duncan''' (aduncan3@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Zack Chapman''' (zchapman@tulane.edu)
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|'''Lewis E Greenstein''' (lgreenstein<small>@tulane.edu</small>), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''' (ctyndal@tulane.edu)
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Asher Burkin''' (aburkin@tulane.edu)
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|'''Robert Johnson''' (rjohnson1@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl''' (sastl@tulane.edu)
file:Blank.jpg|'''Will Kadison''' (wkadison@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu)
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|'''Dylan A Lucia''' (dlucia1@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Elena_Lompado.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu)
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|'''Ian J Pimenta''' (ipimenta@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu)
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu), 2021
+
File:Audrey_Buck_(2).jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu)
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|'''Kyra Rubinstein''' (krubinstein<small>@tulane.edu</small>), 2021
+
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu)
 
+
File:Addie_Duncan.jpg|Adriana L Duncan, 2021
 
+
File:Blank.jpg|Jarrett Bealer, 2021
 +
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|Lewis E Greenstein, 2021
 +
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|Robert Johnson, 2021
 +
file:Blank.jpg|Will Kadison, 2021
 +
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|Dylan A Lucia, '20, *21
 +
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|Ian J Pimenta, 2021
 +
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|Kyra Rubinstein, 2021
 
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
 
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
Line 88: Line 78:
 
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
 
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Sierra "Rae" Mills, 2020
+
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Andrei Mills, 2020
 
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
 
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
Line 121: Line 111:
  
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
Prof. '''Adam Crosson''' [mailto:acrosson@tulane.edu acrosson@tulane.edu] runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations
 
  
 
+
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Timothy Schuler.
 
  
 
==Maker Profiles==
 
==Maker Profiles==
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]
 
 
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
  
Line 144: Line 130:
  
 
[[Ian Pimenta]]
 
[[Ian Pimenta]]
 +
 +
[[Asher Burkin]]

Latest revision as of 18:06, 26 August 2022

David E Robinson

Executive Director

Email: david@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5866

Office: MakerSpace Office


John Sullivan

Assistant Executive Director

Sullivan.jpg

Email: johns@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5853

Office: 533 Lindy Boggs Building

More info



Fabrication Technicians

  • Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher
  • The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short. They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace. In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician. To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the requirements for these credentials:

    • Digital Tools
    • Wood 1
    • Metal 1
    • Metal 2

    This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill. All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.

    During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:

    • Either Wood 2 or [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
    • Water Jet

    Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour. After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Fab Techs who have completed all of the trainings will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.


    Faculty & Staff Collaborators

    Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.

    Maker Profiles

    Ben Lewson

    Cody O'Cain

    Chase Schober

    Jason Schuster

    Dylan Lucia

    Afsheen Sajjadi

    Lewis Greenstein

    Ian Pimenta

    Asher Burkin