Difference between revisions of "People"

From makerspace.tulane.edu
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
(163 intermediate revisions by 10 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
==Dr. Cedric Walker==
+
==John Sullivan==
===MakerSpace Director===
+
===Interim Executive Director===
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
+
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
+
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
  
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
+
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5853
  
'''Office:''' 621 Lindy Boggs Building
+
'''Office:''' 533 Lindy Boggs Building
  
[http://tulane.edu/sse/bme/faculty/walker.cfm More info]
+
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
  
  
  
  
 +
==''Fabrication Technicians''==
  
==Dr. Timothy Schuler==
+
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas  -- photo:  Sally Asher]] </li>
===MakerSpace Advisor===
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
 
  
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5086
+
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
 +
*Digital-1
 +
*Wood-1
 +
*Metal-1
 +
*Metal-2
 +
*Electronics
 +
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
  
'''Office:''' 4059 Percival Stern Hall
+
During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:
 
+
*Digital-2
[http://tulane.edu/sse/pep/faculty-and-staff/faculty/timothy-schuler.cfm More info]
+
*Either Wood-2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
 +
*Water Jet.
  
 +
Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Fab Techs who have completed '''all''' of the
 +
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings]  will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
  
 +
 +
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Fabrication Technicians, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Fab Techs">
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Ben Yifrach''' (byifrach@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alan Shepardson''' (ashepardson@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Kate Scalet''' (kscalet@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Caroline Sawrey''' (csawrey@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alec Rovner''' (arovner@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Bennett Hermanoff''' (bhermanoff@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Morgan Hearne''' (mhearne@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Zack Chapman''' (zchapman@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''' (ctyndal@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Asher Burkin''' (aburkin@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl''' (sastl@tulane.edu)
 +
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Elena_Lompado.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Audrey_Buck_(2).jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Addie_Duncan.jpg|Adriana L Duncan, 2021
 +
File:Blank.jpg|Jarrett Bealer, 2021
 +
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|Lewis E Greenstein, 2021
 +
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|Robert Johnson, 2021
 +
file:Blank.jpg|Will Kadison, 2021
 +
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|Dylan A Lucia, 2021
 +
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|Ian J Pimenta, 2021
 +
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|Kyra Rubinstein, 2021
 +
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 +
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
 +
File:BranchCrop.jpg|Kaleb Branch, 2020
 +
File:BushCrop.jpg|Meghan E Bush, 2020
 +
File:DavisCrop.jpg|Claire Davis, 2020
 +
File:GrieshopCop.jpg|Cole Greishop, 2020
 +
File:MirnicsCrop.jpg|Marco I Mirnics, 2020
 +
File:OConnorCrop.jpg|Mason O'Connor, 2020
 +
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 +
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
 +
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Andrei Mills, 2020
 +
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 +
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
 +
File:YaoCrop.jpg|Joshua E Yao, 2019
 +
File:ArtztCrop2.jpg|Luke Artzt, 2019
 +
File:NguyenNCrop.jpg|Nathan P Nguyen, 2019
 +
File:BegemanCrop.jpg|Andrew W Begeman, 2018
 +
File:PraderCrop.jpg|Antonius Prader, 2018
 +
File:SchoberCrop.jpg|Chase B Schober, 2018
 +
File:CaponeCrop2.jpg|Daniel Capone, 2018
 +
File:GastaCrop.jpg|Ethan W Gasta, 2018
 +
File:SchusterCrop.jpg|Jason D Schuster, 2018
 +
File:SmithLCrop.jpg|Lianna Mae Smith, 2018
 +
File:NiceCrop.jpg|Matthew W Nice, 2018
 +
File:WoodyCrop.jpg|Max Woody, 2018
 +
File:HoltCrop.jpg|Sarah E Holt, 2018
 +
File:SteffensCrop.jpg|Theodore Steffens, 2018
 +
File:Brown_AlexCrop.jpg|Alexander Brown, 2017
 +
File:ZhangCrop.jpg|Allen Zhang, 2017
 +
File:LewsonCrop2.jpg|Ben Lewson, 2017
 +
File:WhiteCrop.jpg|Celeste White, 2017
 +
File:O'CainCrop.jpg|Cody O'Cain, 2017
 +
File:Seaton_DaleyCrop.jpg|Daley Seaton, 2017
 +
File:Kearing_DavidCrop.jpg|David Kearing, 2017
 +
File:SweenyCrop.jpg|Joe Sweeny, 2017
 +
File:Nguyen_Jon_Crop.jpg|Jonathan Nguyen, 2017
 +
File:FishelCrop.jpg|Ryan Fishel, 2017
 +
File:McCrady2Crop.jpg|Taylor McCrady, 2017
 +
File:McMahonCrop.jpg|Francis McMahon, 2016
 +
File:Bishop_Van_Horn_Crop.jpg|Maddy Bishop-Van Horn, 2016
 +
</gallery>
  
 +
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
 +
Prof. '''Adam Crosson''' [mailto:acrosson@tulane.edu acrosson@tulane.edu] runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations
  
  
==John Sullivan==
+
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Timothy Schuler.
===MakerSpace Advisor===
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
 
  
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5853
+
==Maker Profiles==
 +
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]
  
'''Office:''' 533 Lindy Boggs Building
+
[[Ben Lewson]]
  
[http://tulane.edu/sse/bme/faculty/staff/index.cfm More info]
+
[[Cody O'Cain]]
  
 +
[[Chase Schober]]
  
 +
[[Jason Schuster]]
  
 +
[[Dylan Lucia]]
  
 +
[[Afsheen Sajjadi]]
  
==''Maker Ninjas''==
+
[[Lewis Greenstein]]
'''Ben Lewson''' [mailto:blewson@tulane.edu blewson@tulane.edu]  
 
  
'''Cody O'Cain''' [mailto:cocain@tulane.edu cocain@tulane.edu]  
+
[[Ian Pimenta]]
  
'''Joe Sweeny''' [mailto:jsweeny@tulane.edu jsweeny@tulane.edu]
+
[[Asher Burkin]]
 
 
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
 

Latest revision as of 09:12, 20 December 2021

John Sullivan

Interim Executive Director

Sullivan.jpg

Email: johns@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5853

Office: 533 Lindy Boggs Building

More info



Fabrication Technicians

  • Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher
  • The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short. They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace. In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician. To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the requirements for these credentials:

    • Digital-1
    • Wood-1
    • Metal-1
    • Metal-2
    • Electronics

    This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill. All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.

    During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:

    • Digital-2
    • Either Wood-2 or [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
    • Water Jet.

    Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour. After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Fab Techs who have completed all of the trainings will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.


    Faculty & Staff Collaborators

    Prof. Adam Crosson acrosson@tulane.edu runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations


    Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Timothy Schuler.

    Maker Profiles

    Dr. Timothy Schuler

    Ben Lewson

    Cody O'Cain

    Chase Schober

    Jason Schuster

    Dylan Lucia

    Afsheen Sajjadi

    Lewis Greenstein

    Ian Pimenta

    Asher Burkin