Difference between revisions of "People"

From makerspace.tulane.edu
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
(142 intermediate revisions by 8 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
==Dr. Cedric Walker==
+
==David E Robinson==
===MakerSpace Director===
+
===Executive Director===
[[File:Walker.jpg|left|frame]]
+
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:cfw@tulane.edu cfw@tulane.edu]
+
'''Email:''' [mailto:david@tulane.edu david@tulane.edu]
  
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5866
  
'''Office:''' 423 Lindy Boggs Building
+
'''Office:''' MakerSpace Office
 
 
[http://tulane.edu/sse/bme/faculty/walker.cfm More info]
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
==[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]==
 
===MakerSpace Advisor===
 
[[File:Schuler.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:tschule@tulane.edu tschule@tulane.edu]
 
 
 
'''Phone:''' (504) 865-5086
 
 
 
'''Office:''' 4059 Percival Stern Hall
 
 
 
[http://tulane.edu/sse/pep/faculty-and-staff/faculty/timothy-schuler.cfm More info]
 
 
 
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler|Profile Page]]
 
  
  
 
==John Sullivan==
 
==John Sullivan==
===MakerSpace Advisor===
+
===Assistant Executive Director===
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
[[File:Sullivan.jpg|left|frame]]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
 
'''Email:''' [mailto:johns@tulane.edu johns@tulane.edu]
Line 36: Line 18:
 
'''Office:''' 533 Lindy Boggs Building
 
'''Office:''' 533 Lindy Boggs Building
  
[http://tulane.edu/sse/bme/faculty/staff/index.cfm More info]
+
[https://sse.tulane.edu/bme/staff More info]
  
  
  
  
 +
==''Fabrication Technicians''==
  
==''Maker Ninjas''==
+
<li style="display: inline-block;"> [[File:Ninjas.jpg|600px|thumb|left|frame|Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo:  Sally Asher]]  </li>
  
'''Alex Brown''' [mailto:abrown27@tulane.edu abrown27@tulane.edu]
+
The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers.  We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short.  They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace.  In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician.  To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the [https://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training requirements] for these credentials:
 +
* Digital Tools
 +
* Wood 1
 +
* Metal 1
 +
* Metal 2
 +
<!--*Electronics-->
 +
This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill.  All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.
  
'''Ryan Fishel''' [mailto:rfishel@tulane.edu rfishel@tulane.edu]
+
During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:
 +
* Either Wood 2  or  [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
 +
* Water Jet
  
'''Ethan Gasta''' [mailto:egasta@tulane.edu egasta@tulane.edu]
+
Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour.  After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour.  Fab Techs who have completed '''all''' of the
 +
[http://makerspace.tulane.edu/index.php/Safety_and_Manuals#Training trainings] will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.
  
'''David Kearing''' [mailto:dkearing@tulane.edu dkearing@tulane.edu]
+
 +
<gallery heights=200px caption="Current and past Fabrication Technicians, with year of graduation.  E-mail address is shown for current Fab Techs">
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Ben Yifrach''' (byifrach@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alan Shepardson''' (ashepardson@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Kate Scalet''' (kscalet@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Caroline Sawrey''' (csawrey@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Alec Rovner''' (arovner@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Bennett Hermanoff''' (bhermanoff@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Morgan Hearne''' (mhearne@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Zack Chapman''' (zchapman@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Charles Tyndal''' (ctyndal@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Asher Burkin''' (aburkin@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Sidney Astl''' (sastl@tulane.edu)
 +
File:CulpCrop.jpg|'''Caroline Culp''' (cculp@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Elena_Lompado.jpg|'''Elena Lompado''' (Elompado@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Josh Prager''' (jprager@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Audrey_Buck_(2).jpg|'''Audrey Buck''' (abuck4@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Blank.jpg|'''Brock Headen''' (bheaden@tulane.edu)
 +
File:Addie_Duncan.jpg|Adriana L Duncan, 2021
 +
File:Blank.jpg|Jarrett Bealer, 2021
 +
File:GreensteinCrop2.jpg|Lewis E Greenstein, 2021
 +
File:JohnsonCrop.jpg|Robert Johnson, 2021
 +
file:Blank.jpg|Will Kadison, 2021
 +
File:LuciaCrop.jpg|Dylan A Lucia, 2021
 +
File:PimentaCrop.jpg|Ian J Pimenta, 2021
 +
File:RubensteinCrop.jpg|Kyra Rubinstein, 2021
 +
File:AuCrop.jpg|Timothy Au, 2020
 +
File:BeldenCrop.jpg|Samuel W Belden, 2020
 +
File:BranchCrop.jpg|Kaleb Branch, 2020
 +
File:BushCrop.jpg|Meghan E Bush, 2020
 +
File:DavisCrop.jpg|Claire Davis, 2020
 +
File:GrieshopCop.jpg|Cole Greishop, 2020
 +
File:MirnicsCrop.jpg|Marco I Mirnics, 2020
 +
File:OConnorCrop.jpg|Mason O'Connor, 2020
 +
File:RoseCrop.jpg|Victoria A Rose, 2020
 +
File:SajjadiCrop2.jpg|Afsheen Sajjadi, 2020
 +
File:MillsCrop.jpg|Andrei Mills, 2020
 +
File:MenaCrop.jpg|Daniel Mena Caroll, 2019
 +
File:MooreCrop.png|Elise M Moore, 2019
 +
File:YaoCrop.jpg|Joshua E Yao, 2019
 +
File:ArtztCrop2.jpg|Luke Artzt, 2019
 +
File:NguyenNCrop.jpg|Nathan P Nguyen, 2019
 +
File:BegemanCrop.jpg|Andrew W Begeman, 2018
 +
File:PraderCrop.jpg|Antonius Prader, 2018
 +
File:SchoberCrop.jpg|Chase B Schober, 2018
 +
File:CaponeCrop2.jpg|Daniel Capone, 2018
 +
File:GastaCrop.jpg|Ethan W Gasta, 2018
 +
File:SchusterCrop.jpg|Jason D Schuster, 2018
 +
File:SmithLCrop.jpg|Lianna Mae Smith, 2018
 +
File:NiceCrop.jpg|Matthew W Nice, 2018
 +
File:WoodyCrop.jpg|Max Woody, 2018
 +
File:HoltCrop.jpg|Sarah E Holt, 2018
 +
File:SteffensCrop.jpg|Theodore Steffens, 2018
 +
File:Brown_AlexCrop.jpg|Alexander Brown, 2017
 +
File:ZhangCrop.jpg|Allen Zhang, 2017
 +
File:LewsonCrop2.jpg|Ben Lewson, 2017
 +
File:WhiteCrop.jpg|Celeste White, 2017
 +
File:O'CainCrop.jpg|Cody O'Cain, 2017
 +
File:Seaton_DaleyCrop.jpg|Daley Seaton, 2017
 +
File:Kearing_DavidCrop.jpg|David Kearing, 2017
 +
File:SweenyCrop.jpg|Joe Sweeny, 2017
 +
File:Nguyen_Jon_Crop.jpg|Jonathan Nguyen, 2017
 +
File:FishelCrop.jpg|Ryan Fishel, 2017
 +
File:McCrady2Crop.jpg|Taylor McCrady, 2017
 +
File:McMahonCrop.jpg|Francis McMahon, 2016
 +
File:Bishop_Van_Horn_Crop.jpg|Maddy Bishop-Van Horn, 2016
 +
</gallery>
  
'''Ben Lewson''' [mailto:blewson@tulane.edu blewson@tulane.edu]
+
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
  
'''Taylor McCrady''' [mailto:tmccrady@tulane.edu tmccrady@tulane.edu]
+
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.
  
'''Elise Moore''' [mailto:emoore7@tulane.edu emoore7@tulane.edu]
+
==Maker Profiles==
 +
[[Ben Lewson]]
  
'''Cody O'Cain''' [mailto:cocain@tulane.edu cocain@tulane.edu]
+
[[Cody O'Cain]]
 
 
'''Antonius Prader''' [mailto:aprader1@tulane.edu aprader1@tulane.edu]  
 
 
 
'''Afsheen Sajjadi''' [mailto:asajjadi@tulane.edu asajjadi@tulane.edu]
 
  
'''Chase Schober'''  [mailto:cschober@tulane.edu cschober@tulane.edu]
+
[[Chase Schober]]
  
'''Daley Seaton''' [mailto:dseaton@tulane.edu dseaton@tulane.edu]
+
[[Jason Schuster]]
  
'''Celeste White''' [mailto:cwhite20@tulane.edu cwhite20@tulane.edu]
+
[[Dylan Lucia]]
  
'''Allen Zhang''' [mailto:azhang2@tulane.edu azhang2@tulane.edu]
+
[[Afsheen Sajjadi]]
  
==Faculty & Staff Collaborators==
+
[[Lewis Greenstein]]
Prof. '''Dan Alley''' [mailto:dalley1@tulane.edu dalley1@tulane.edu] runs the sculpture studio in the Art Department, and is available to help students with welding, casting, plasma cutting, and other "hot metal" operations
 
  
 +
[[Ian Pimenta]]
  
Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact Director Cedric Walker.
+
[[Asher Burkin]]
 
 
==Maker Profiles==
 
[[Dr. Timothy Schuler]]
 
 
 
[[Ben Lewson]]
 
 
 
[[Cody O'Cain]]
 

Latest revision as of 05:28, 30 May 2022

David E Robinson

Executive Director

Email: david@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5866

Office: MakerSpace Office


John Sullivan

Assistant Executive Director

Sullivan.jpg

Email: johns@tulane.edu

Phone: (504) 865-5853

Office: 533 Lindy Boggs Building

More info



Fabrication Technicians

  • Scot Ackerman and the 2019 Maker Ninjas -- photo: Sally Asher
  • The Scot Ackerman MakerSpace is run by student workers. We call them Fabrication Technicians, or Fab Techs for short. They are helpful and knowledgeable, but their first obligation is to ensure safe operation of the MakerSpace. In the past, frequent users of the MakerSpace were identified by current Fab Techs and were invited to apply for a position as a new Fabrication Technician. To be considered for hiring, a user must first demonstrate broad basic competencies by completing the requirements for these credentials:

    • Digital Tools
    • Wood 1
    • Metal 1
    • Metal 2

    This will allow use of all tools in the main shop area and Mezzanine, except for the water jet cutter, CNC Lathe and CNC Mill. All prospective Fab Tech candidates are interviewed, and their project portfolios are reviewed.

    During their first year of work as a Fab Tech, the following additional competencies must be earned in order to continue as a Fab Tech in the second year:

    • Either Wood 2 or [CNC-Lathe and CNC-Mill]
    • Water Jet

    Newly hired Fab Techs start at a salary of $10.00 per hour. After satisfactorily working for two semesters, their pay will increase by $1.00 per hour. Fab Techs who have completed all of the trainings will receive an additional $1.00 per hour, so that a fully trained Fab Tech with at least 2 semesters of experience will earn $12.00 per hour.


    Faculty & Staff Collaborators

    Faculty and staff members who would like to be associated with the MakerSpace should contact David Robinson.

    Maker Profiles

    Ben Lewson

    Cody O'Cain

    Chase Schober

    Jason Schuster

    Dylan Lucia

    Afsheen Sajjadi

    Lewis Greenstein

    Ian Pimenta

    Asher Burkin